Can I move my chick out to the coop? Even the little runt?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by goindutch, Jul 2, 2016.

1. goindutch

goindutch New Egg

Jul 2, 2016
    Hi. I am new to raising chickens and I have read through many posts and books so far, but I have a small dilemma that I am seeking advise on and have yet to find an answer to. In May I got 4 new baby chicks and 2 pullets. I have had my baby chick for about 6 weeks now and three of them are doing great! They are getting pretty big and getting to big for their brooder. I have already moved the pullets out to the coop from the brooder, where I kept them together, but separated by a small piece of chicken wire. I want to move them all out together into the chicken coop where I feel they will be happier. My dilemma is that I have one chick that seems like she has yet to really grow. She is really little compared to the others and I worry that she is to small to go in and out of the coop into the run and won't be able to climb up the little ladder. I don't know what to do because she is the eating and drinking, but she just doesn't grow. I also am worried because she is bonded to the largest chick and is always cuddling and standing under her. Should I separate them? Should I move them all out and watch her closely and help her in and out of the coop? Does anyone have any ideas or wisdom to give?

2. 21hens-incharge

21hens-incharge Chicken Obsessed

Mar 9, 2014
    Northern Colorado
    [​IMG]

I think you already have your answer and just don't know it. You can move them out there at the age they are. The biggest hurdle I think you will face is that the other pullets wont recognize them anymore and there may be some aggression as they bigger pullets know it as their home now.