Can I show either one? Silkie and showgirl:LOTSA PICS!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Shannon's Chix, Dec 16, 2009.

1. Shannon's Chix

Shannon's Chix Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2009
    N.E. Florida
    I am thinking about taking one of these to a show. I've read up on the APA standard but I'm still not sure as I have never done this before and am fairly new to chickens. Please let me know what you think of these 2...and please keep in mind they've not been bathed, toes and beaks not done, etc...thanks!

*about 5 mo splash silkie pullet, Susie-Q:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4 mo blue showgirl cockerel, Ricardo:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Professional

Professional Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2008
    You can "show" (exhibit) anything you like. Your splash silkie is unfortunately not a show quality specimen. That bird will place, only if there is no competition.

Most serious poultry exhibitors are offended by the presence of those showgirls in the show hall. They are not recognized by the APA or the ABA, and so cannot compete beyond the breed level. In addition, that bird has lousy silkie type and feathering.

Enter them if you like, for the experience. Just go into it knowing what your birds' limitations are. Likely some kindly exhibitor will take pity on you after seeing those entries, and give you a well deserved lesson on what constitutes a good silkie, using some of the good birds there for comparison.

3. LilPeeps

LilPeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2007
    SE Mass