Can muscovy drakes fly?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Buxton Ducks, Jan 13, 2014.

1. Buxton Ducks

Buxton Ducks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Buxton, Maine
    I have 5 Muscovy hens and 1 drake (Boris). All of them are 1-2 years old. I am very new to scovies and I am in love with them! The issue I am having is the hens love to hang out on my roof and poor Boris has zero flying ability. He paces back and forth on the deck until his girls return to him. I was curious whether no drakes can fly? He is bigger than my largest mallard-type duck (even my jumbo pekin boy). The girls are so agile and it is awesome to watch the wing about. Boris gets extra angry when my mallard drake joins the girls on the roof![​IMG]

2. Going Quackers

Going Quackers Overrun With Chickens

May 24, 2011
    On, Canada
    Most mature drakes? no, the sizing of them makes the agility poor. I do have one guy who is a few years old and he can *just* scoot up to the 4ft fence but some days he cannot seem to pull even that off lol

So anyways, poor Boris is stuck. [​IMG] and the mallard drake is dead clever [​IMG]

3. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    I had one get spooked and that sucker flew across our property and into the windshield of an oncoming car, but he's the only drake I have ever seen fly more than a few feet.

-Kathy

4. Buxton Ducks

Buxton Ducks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Buxton, Maine
    Okay so Boris is just a normal boy then! My mallard drake is the first to jump off the roof and go hiding by Boris when a hawk comes by. I guess it's good that they don't hold grudges...

5. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.