Can my chickens eat this as a treat?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Jonny Anvil, Jun 30, 2010.

1. Jonny Anvil

Jonny Anvil Chillin' With My Peeps

Hey Everyone,

I am still fairly new to raising chickens... I have done a fair bit of reading here on BYC, but just want to get some opinions...
    I am free ranging my chickens right now, I have a few that are 10 weeks and a few that are 17 weeks old.

When it comes to treats I have yet to really spoil anyone... and want to give them some treats....
    I have a huge bag of dried corn I picked up at the feed store, but it's not cracked it is whole kernel, Is this ok to feed to them whole or should I be cracking it?... So far I have been putting it into the Blender and busting it up a bit. They have access to grit so I think this will be ok for them.

My Red Sussex I just got two days ago were raised on fresh Cow's milk and were given some every morning.... I don't know if I can continue that.... lol as I have no cow. I will try some plain sugar free yogurt with some feed and see if they like that.

Also.......Is it ok to feed my Chickens the following "Mixed Goodies" as I have combined the following in Ziploc baggies and before I give them their treat, I want to make sure I will not be harming them.

Flax Seeds
    Sunflower seeds
    Quaker Oats (large flake)
    Multi-grain Cherrios
    Cornflakes
    White Rice

I also plan on giving them some blue berries tomorrow that I have in my fridge that are not gone bad, but the Wifey and I won't eat now...lol

I thank everyone in advance for any and all advice and imput.. I have many great ideas from the "Treat thread" water melon is on the menu.

Cheers!

Jonny "A"

2. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens