Can people who never touched a chicken raise chickens!?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Hangin Wit My Peeps, Apr 21, 2008.

1. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin
    As you can see I'm new to this! I have never touched a chicken before but I would love to have a few now that we moved on to our 20 acre's! Is there anyone else out there who is very new to chickens!? We LOVE fresh farm eggs and would love to be able to have them whenever we want rather then have to search down a farm who sells them and HOPE that they have some available! Once you get a taste of those fresh eggs there IS not going back! I'm sure all of you would agree on that one! So now here I am...waiting for my chicks to arrive after ordering them from Ideal poultry. We are only planning on keeping a dozen out of the 24 that we are getting. HOW will I choose? I have no clue! I am hoping to learn a lot from this forum. Wish me luck! We do have our brooder box all ready and waiting for my chicks [​IMG] Now we just have to build a hen house.

2. CarriBrown

CarriBrown Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

You've never touched a chicken but you're addicted already. Our work at BYC is done. [​IMG]
    You're going to love your little ones! What breeds did you get? And don't forget to post pictures when they come! [​IMG]

Welcome to the fourm, BTW!

3. EweSheep

EweSheep Flock Mistress

Jan 12, 2007
    Land of Lincoln
    Welcome! And you wont stop with ONE LOL! [​IMG]

4. eggzettera

eggzettera Chillin' With My Peeps

Good luck, they are just as easy if not easier then you dogs & cats only real problem is predators, you here so you are on the right track.... [​IMG]

5. WillsMama93

WillsMama93 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2008
    Shreveport, La