Can someone please help figure out what sex this turkeys are????

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by Chickadee29, Dec 7, 2011.

1. Chickadee29

Chickadee29 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 1, 2011
    Florida
    I have two turkeys and I believe one is a male and the other is a female. I have had them since buying them at two days old and they are the same age but they are different sizes. The one I have seen strut and the other hasn't done anything like that but they both have beards. I have alot of people tell me they are both boys but I think they are wrong. Please help

I think this one is a boy
    [​IMG]

I think this one is a girl
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 8, 2011
  2. toadbriar

toadbriar Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 28, 2010
    central massacheezits
    I am not an expert and would love to be proved wrong BUT I think they are both males.

---and that other thing is a pygmy goat's butt [​IMG] (that, I AM an expert on)

3. turkaholic

turkaholic Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 2, 2010
    Maryland
    Top one is a tom and the middle and bottom photos are of a hen. She has the tell- tale white edged breast/chest feathers.

4. java girl 2

java girl 2 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2011
    NY
    yep, you have a tom and a hen !! [​IMG] [​IMG] the way you can tell is the tom has the big long thing on his head that will striech when you pull it, and the hen can not and is smaller than the tom!! Good luck !! [​IMG]

5. toadbriar

toadbriar Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 28, 2010
    central massacheezits
    why did I think the white-edged lady feathers were on the back? But I ca't hardly argue with someone named Turkaholic lol [​IMG]

6. Chickadee29

Chickadee29 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 1, 2011
    Florida