Can someone tell me what is wrong here?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by crystalchik, Jun 14, 2008.

1. crystalchik

crystalchik Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2008
    Central Florida
    Hello,
    I have a GQF incubator and I have been hatching with it for 4 months now. I bought it used so it wasnt "manufatured set". The temp is help perfectly at 99.5*F (according to the GQF gauge thermometer) and I have an outside digital thermo/hygrometer that says that the temp is 101.1*F and the humidity is 47% (it was 55%). I have a little yellow sheet (that came with the incubator) that says it needs to 85-87% with the wet bulb...what the heck is this and is it different from regular humidity percent??
    ANYWAYS, I will have about 1/4 (or sometimes way less) of my eggs hatch PERFECTLY FINE, and then I will get the rest that pip, and drown because the egg is filled with fluid. Then some will die at about the 7 day point. The eggs that live and die are right next to each other and i just dont get what could be wrong? I lost 10 peacock eggs so far and a countless number of chicken eggs and chicks. (somewhere like for every 1 chick I have live I have about 3 die...I have about 15 chicks) I even have some chicks hatch fine and then die a slow death within 2-5 days.
    Please can someone help me!! It breaks my heart to see all these chicks dying and I can t figure out why.
    Thank you for any info you can give me!
    Crystalchik

2. Farmer Kitty

Farmer Kitty Flock Mistress

Sep 18, 2007
    Wisconsin
    Your humidity is to high. On a hygrometer you want 40-45% the first 18 days and then 60-65% until they start to hatch and it will go up as they hatch. When the humidity is to high the liquid doesn't evaporate the way it should and your chicks drown. [​IMG]

3. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia