1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can the laying eggs chicken be a broody chicken?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Ameer894, Jan 27, 2014.

1. Ameer894

Ameer894 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2013
    Hello people
    I'm wondering if this chicken will be broody someday?? or it is impossible ?
    And it is here about 15-20 C degrees, so can they hatch at this time of year? How can I let them do that? I have zero experience.
    Thnx

[​IMG]

2. Davey G

Davey G Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 10, 2014
    It is never impossible for a chicken to go broody. One year we had a Silver Laced Polish go broody twice. Later we learned that "due to the Polishes showy background history they will never go broody." Ha-Ha!! My brother and I concluded that it is the birds personality that depends if it goes broody. Also if the bird was hatched by a broody 9 times out of 10 they will be excellent mothers. Yes chicks can hatch in 15-20 degrees Celsius weather. one year we had one hatch in freezing weather in spring. A rat carried it away though. I hope that answers your question.[​IMG]

3. Ameer894

Oct 26, 2013
    Ha-Ha great Thnx :)
    But how can I help her do it, I mean by leaving it's eggs in a convenient nest maybe? what procedure should I do?

4. Davey G

Davey G Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 10, 2014