1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can this randy rooster be rehabilitated?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by batta, Feb 6, 2014.

1. 'Relocate' him before he causes serious injury or death.

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  2. Try to keep him away from the pullets until they are old enough to breed.

3 vote(s)
    60.0%
  3. See if taking down his spurs will sufficiently reduce the risk of injury.

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  4. Don't worry, he is unlikely to cause any serious problem.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Feed him saltpeter. (Okay, I'm not serious about saltpeter, but if anyone has a suggestion to reduc

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. batta

batta New Egg

Jun 26, 2013
    Big Island, Hawaii
    I'm a chicken novice. A bit over a year ago a rooster passing through the neighborhood decided the livin' was easy at our place and settled down. We had watched him drifting for 6 months prior to his putting down stakes as every 4 to 6 weeks he would shift his territory by about 100 yards or so. He is a typical Hawaiian mix, with probably a good bit of game fowl in him. He looked not quite full grown when he first appeared in the neighborhood, and is now probably about 2 years old. We know that for the past 18 months he has lived the life of a lonely bachelor.

We brought in a dozen day-old pullets with the primary objective of controlling coquis, and the secondary objective of providing eggs. They are now 9 weeks old (and 9 of the 12 remain thanks to a couple of now-deceased mongooses). The pullets are barred rocks and gold sex links.