Can we add two Silkie chicks to two larger breed chicks that we have had for a few days?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Coop's Coop, Oct 17, 2017.

1. Coop's Coop

Coop's Coop Songster

Oct 16, 2017
    Total chicken noob here! My son has two 6 day old hen chicks (Buff Brahma and Specled Sussex). We have had them for a few days. IN LOVE! He wants to buy two Silkie hen chicks if we can find them. He wants them all to grow up together. I'm hoping to find ones around the same age. Will there be a problem introducing the two new Silkies to the other chicks? If I get Silkie chicks that are a bit older than our existing chicks is that a bad idea to mix them? I think our chicks were hatched on 10/11 and the Silkies I'm interested in were hatched 10/5 or maybe a few days earlier. Thanks! The Silkies are going to break my sons birthday budget and I want to try to anticipate any problems that may occur with introducing two new chicks....don't want it to be an expensive mistake where we have to buy two coops and runs! I'd love to hear what you think experienced chicken lovers.

2. SillySilkie

SillySilkie Chirping

Oct 14, 2017
    NC
    Bigger breed of chickens can bully silkies so I don’t know. Maybe introduce them and watch them for a while

Coop's Coop likes this.
  3. SeaPolka

SeaPolka Songster

Aug 25, 2017
    Ive always thought its best to introduce chicks when young as they establish a mini flock and pecking order without the excessive moods. I wouldn't see a problem with mixing them but I guess I'm no expert, this is just my experience.

4. savannahRoos22

savannahRoos22 Songster

Oct 13, 2017
    Oh boy! I'm really excited for you! I hope you make a good decision and don't have to add more expenses! I'm truly not sure. Good luck! Me personally, I wouldn't keep a speckled sussex with silkies. Silkies are so calm and affectionate that they're likely to not be violent ever. I love them! Sorry I can't help.

Coop's Coop likes this.
  5. SeaPolka