Can we talk about sex?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by MandyFitch, Oct 8, 2013.

1. MandyFitch

MandyFitch Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 9, 2013
    [​IMG]

As a total newby, I'm reading lots of tips for early gender detection, some of it contradictory. Or maybe it's not contradictory, maybe it depends on the breed.

So talk to me. What do combs tell you? Early or late feathering? Defined striped vs cloudy stripes, defined spots vs messy spots? Thick legs?

What are your best general tips?
    What are your favorite breed specific tells?

(I promise not to hold anyone to anything!)

If I get a lot of good info I can put together something for newbies like myself to play with during the long weeks of waiting for the definitive egg to appear.

Thanks!

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Here are some tips [​IMG]:

• If a chick younger than eight weeks old or so has a red comb, its probably a male. A female can have a large comb at this age, but it will be pale.
    • Often, male chicks will have a more boisterous, inquisitive personality. For one of my chickens, I could tell that it was a male as soon as it hatched. Right from the start, he was bold. Of course, you can have fiesty females too.
    • Males often times have thicker legs. Thick legs on their own don't mean that a chicken is a male, but if combined with other male traits, they make it more likely that you have a male.
    • With pea combed birds, males tend to have three rows of small spikes/lumps. Females usually have smaller combs with only one row of bumps.
    • In rose combed birds, males tend to have wider combs. The comb of a pullet will be skinnier than the comb of a male. Male combs will get redder earlier, while female rose combed breeds often have orangish or greyish combs.
    • Male chickens are usually larger and stand taller than females. In Silkies, males are often much larger than the females.