Can you add eggs to the incubator????

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by shangri-lafarms, Jul 31, 2008.

1. shangri-lafarms

shangri-lafarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2008
    NY-Upstate Adirondacks
    Here is a hypothetical scenario::: I am new to hatching/Incubating, so I got to thinking and I am wondering this, can you pen up a roo with hens and take their eggs daily assuming they are fertile and add them to already incubating eggs....I am assuming I would do this if possible daily for a few days in order to obtain a dozen or so eggs....Thanks for all your knowledge and help...as I have never been dissapointed by any responses.....This board is great I love everyone:jumpy:clap:D

2. IloveTravis

IloveTravis Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 27, 2008
    This would work, until the eggs started hatching. The eggs that were put in first would end up hatching while the ones who were put in a day or so afterward would still be in their eggs. So while the baby chickies were galavanting around inside the incubator the other eggs might get knocked around left and right. [​IMG]

3. penelope77

penelope77 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2008
    northeast oklahoma
    yep, you'll have staggered hatches. you can build a hatcher to move them to for the last three days or you can play with fire and let them hatch with the ones that aren't ready. i did this time. but there are stories out there about the other eggs not making it because of bacteria or something form the hatch mess. but i think if they were just a few days apart it would be okay.

Last edited: Jul 31, 2008
  4. shangri-lafarms

Apr 24, 2008
    NY-Upstate Adirondacks
    Yeah, I was wondering about that, can you take them out of the incubator and into the brooder one by one????? Or is that just a PIA???? [​IMG]

5. klf73

klf73 Mad Scientist

Jun 1, 2008
    Maine