Can you help me identify this breed?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Lovefarmanimals, Mar 29, 2018.

1. Lovefarmanimals

Lovefarmanimals Chirping

Jul 19, 2017
    SouthWest Georgia
    Hi! First of all i want to say i'm new to raising chickens, and i tried an experiment 7 months ago when i was hatching eggs in an incubator. Out of curiosity i put it in there 3 Farm house free range eggs that i had bought at Walmart. One out of three hatched and this is the result, but now i am not sure what breed this is .. can anyone help me or have any clue as to what she can be ? (I named her Wally) thank you in advance. 20180303_122320.jpg 20180303_122257.jpg

the eggs she lays are a nice orangie/brown which is the reason i sucessfully tried hatching her in the first place. The top egg is Wally's egg and the bottom lighter egg is just for comparison

20180329_085005.jpg

nminusyplusm, PennyM and SueT like this.
  2. SueT

SueT Free Ranging

May 27, 2015
    SW MO
    Wow! I can't believe a Walmart egg hatched! Who'd have thunk they are even fertile!!!! And she's gorgeous!!!!!

3. Lovefarmanimals

Lovefarmanimals Chirping

Jul 19, 2017
    SouthWest Georgia
    I was in shock also when i saw her move inside the egg for the first time. They were caged free eggs, and i'm guessing it was preserved in the fridge, i let it sit for about a day in regular room temp and set her in the incubator. Thank you! Wally is a nice hen she is a docile bird a bit skittish but really nice , and her eggs are just beautiful. I just wish i knew what breed she is

Last edited: Mar 29, 2018
  4. gladahmae

gladahmae Songster

May 17, 2012
    Benzie, MI
    Looks a fair bit like and amber link to me? They're usually white with varying amounts of red leakage.

5. SueT

SueT Free Ranging

May 27, 2015
    SW MO