1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can you help me sex my Silkies?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Fuzzybottom13, Aug 7, 2013.

1. Fuzzybottom13

Fuzzybottom13 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 7, 2013
    East Bethel, MN
    Hello,

I posted this on the 113 page sexing silkies thread, but thought I might have better luck here with a new post. I also got a few extra photos. Chicken newbie here hoping for some ideas on my Silkie chicks. I've looked at many previous posts and have some ideas, but would love some input! Blue and White are around 14 weeks but are not siblings, Buff around 8 weeks. Thoughts? I've always thought my blue was a roo, and white was a hen, but now the white one has me confused due to a growing comb and behavior. The Blue & White have a little showdown every morning, bowing and jumping at eachother, but it seems harmless (no pecking, kicking etc) and get along at all other times. What sort of behavior do you look for in roosters (besides crowing of course)?

Blue Roo? - Bumpy, but smaller comb, definitely has some wild feathers coming out of his crest (although I don't have a great photo of it) and seems to have more solid tail feathers. "He" is about the same size as the white silkie, but was a smaller chick in comparison to the others I had.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

White Hen? - Slightly larger bomb than Blue, but smooth, softer tail feathers, a seemingly round crest.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Buff Roo or Hen? - Crest seems a little slicked back, but then again its all just growing in. Comb is pretty smooth, and tail feathers are still soft, but still growing in as well.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Out of the Woods Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    1= Hen