Can you potty train a chicken?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Fluffychickens6, Oct 28, 2014.

1. Fluffychickens6

Fluffychickens6 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 17, 2014
    Can you potty train a chicken..? haha this sounds rlly weird but can u? XD I raise my chickens in a backyard with little dirt area (around like more than 10ftx9ft...?) my parents have complaining there is chicken poop everywhere and im planning on cleaning it today (there's not THAT much... they just think lyk 5 pieces is a lot... so ahahha) but I think it's easier if they are, so if u think u can plz tell me how or some tips! thank you!!!!

Also, I was wondering how I can train my chickens to trust me and come when their name is called, and if they can be trained to b my lap chickens :D I have two little pullets around 3 months old now. It's my first time raising chickens so I'm still learning. Thank you!!

2. N F C

N F C Home in WY Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    Hi,

I don't know if you can potty train a chicken but they can wear diapers. There's a thread here on BYC for people that have house chickens that wear them to prevent accidents. Here's a link if you are interested:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/299187/people-with-house-chickens/3090

As for gentling your birds, chickens seem to be ruled by their stomachs. Try sitting quietly and talking softly while having some feed in your palm or even just next to you. Make a point of spending time with them every day, learn their personalities and how they interact with each other. They'll get used to you faster if they know you are their provider of good things to eat and are around them enough for them to recognize you.

And about the poop...you don't want your parents to have any reason to complain about the birds, right? Cleaning up poo isn't the most fun thing to do but with the fun of having chickens comes poop & cleaning it up.