1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can you sex & ID my duckys? **PIC OVERLOAD**

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by RoxyOtis, Apr 12, 2011.

1. RoxyOtis

RoxyOtis Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2008
    Modesto, CA
    A few weeks ago I posted about my brown duck to see if you knew the breed(I think it is a Khaki Campbell). I got him/her a friend and was wondering if you could sex and ID them both now that they are older...any help you be appreciate it!!
    I also have a few questions for a newbie duck owner......

1.) Where are the "drake" feathers?(not sure if that is the right term,sorry...Im new to ducks [​IMG] )

2.) At what age will they be fully feathered out with adult feathering(Mine I believe are around 3 months old,I got them as day or week old not quite sure and have had them for 3 months now)
    3.) I have my ducks in with my bantam chickens and they seem to get along very well,they all mingle and play together.But the ducks seem to not want to go into the coop at night, Our coop is about 2ft off the ground with a ramp.When I go to check on them at night they are asleep on the ground,I pick them up and put them away but they always come back out.When I feel them they seem very warm.The temps at night here in Cali is around 49 to 50 degrees with no rain.Should I be worried and should I put a box out for them on the ground or let them stay out in the open?(they are in a fenced and screened in run.

Sorry for so many questions!!Just want to make sure I don't miss something.

[​IMG]
    Here is one of them together(sorry they are all so blurry,they wouldnt hold still [​IMG] [​IMG] )
    [​IMG]
    Here is one of the lighter colored one.
    [​IMG]
    The tail of the lighter one.
    [​IMG]