Can you take the eggs when she's brooding?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chickeedudel, Jan 1, 2010.

1. chickeedudel

chickeedudel New Egg

Jan 1, 2010
    What is the best way to go about taking the eggs from under the hen when she is trying to brood? They are not fertilized so nothing will come of it but I also wonder how long I can go without collecting them and them still be edible?

Any help is appreciated!!

2. FortWorthChicks

FortWorthChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2009
    Fort Worth
    I am new at this myself. If your hen is broody and the eggs are not ever going to hatch maybe you should consider snapping her out of her broody state. Taking her off the nest and placing her out in the yard could help. If this doesn't work maybe dip her in some cool water. That I have read will almost always bring them out of their broody state.

I have also heard they stop laying when they start brooding so maybe you can prevent it by collecting the eggs as often as possible.

Mind you.. this is all just research I have done... so far my hens have yet to get broody [​IMG]

Good Luck

Jeanette

3. chickeedudel

chickeedudel New Egg

Jan 1, 2010
    That is what I have gathered as well but I guess I'm a little intimidated by her and I get nervous when she pecks at me. Is it okay to just pick her up and handle her even with her pecking at me?

4. pkeeler

pkeeler Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2008
    Shamong
    I just stick my hand under and take them. Some make noise, some do nothing, some peck (doesn't really hurt). You could get some work gloves. In your particular case, I would try lifting the chicken out of the box and putting it outside. Might have to do it a few days in a row. Although, sometimes they stop brooding when you remove the eggs.