Can you tell me what breed and gender you think these are

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by novalady, May 21, 2012.

1. novalady

novalady Hatching

May 21, 2012
    I am new to having chickens these are about 8 weeks old I have a couple of them that I know are roos because I have caught them crowing. but have not been able to tell what the breed any of them are I have looked at the different breed photos and I think I might have a couple of Red Star but not sure on that. thanks for the help
    [​IMG]
    I think this is a hen what breed?
    [​IMG]
    Chicken 2 I think is a Roo what breed
    [​IMG]
    chicken 3 I do not know either not a very big waddle or comb but from what I read that doesnt always mean anything depending on the breed
    [​IMG]
    Chicken 4 is a Roo he was the first of the bunch to croo I also have a hen that looks like him so I have a pair but do not know what breed they are.
    [​IMG]
    Chicken 5 I think is a hen and maybe a Red Star?
    [​IMG]
    Checken 6 the lighter one I think is a hen also, but do not know breed. It started raining so they all went inside I will try and get photos of the others soon Thanks for the help

2. chickenmaniac

chickenmaniac Chirping

Mar 12, 2012
    Arizona
    Chicken 5 is a Golden sex-link and that chick number 4 looks just like mine and i had the same question on his breed and when i made a thread for him i was told he was a "mottled ancona" or "Exchequer Leghorn" and i belive its the leghorn.... heres a pic of mine! very agressive as he attacks my nephews
    [​IMG]

Last edited: May 21, 2012
  3. BlazeJester

BlazeJester Songster

Aug 2, 2011
    Midway, GA
    Do you have any information about where you got these? Did you get them as chicks or just now, where from, if locally what breeds were available, etc?

1) looks like a dark cornish pullet
    2) no idea, rooster
    3) strange looking rooster, which makes me wonder where you got this assortment of birds...