canadian chickens etc

emjay

Songster
10 Years
Sep 6, 2009
I live on Vancouver Island and am hoping someone here knows the breeds best suited to our climate, as I'm new to the Island as well.

what breeds are the most versatile, hardy and good egg layers.
what breed is the easiest for a child to tend to, or the funnest?

My daughter wants a dozen egg laying hens
and a couple of the fancy breeds, to watch the hens brood.
the fancy ones will be in a seperate run from the egg layers of course.

I like the starbrights (is that right??), then there's the Cochins that caught our eye and of course the Bantams.

thanks a bunch.

im on vancouver island as well
smile.png

for egg layers there are many different breeds that are suitable, i personally have standard size (full size) australorp hens, buff orpington and ameraucanas. the australorps are beautiful black birds with a green oil slick sheen to their feathers, the orpingtons are gold color, and the ameraucanas lay green eggs and are generally mixed browns in color. there are also many mixed egg layers that have nice personalities and lay well.

for bantams chickens (bantam is the term for small chicken) cochins are great little birds with nice personalities. super friendly and handlable, they frequently go broody as well, generally a favorite breed for children to handle.

and i think you meant sebrights as opposed to starbrights (they are bantams as well), beautiful fancy little black and white birds (or brown/gold and black depending on the color), in my experiance not usually super handlable, but very stunning (i breed these in the silver color and actuall have a young pair for sale at the moment) and mine lay very well (only had them this summer, so we will see how they lay come winter, but an egg a day each since i got them in feb/march)