candeling???how old is my chick

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tashtash, Jan 8, 2013.

1. tashtash

tashtash Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 23, 2012
    Perth Western Australia
    I candle this egg tonight. not sure when layed[​IMG] but put in my incubator on the 4th Jan. can anyone tell me as its my first time does this look ok. and how old is the chick inside. am i on the right track.

2. tashtash

Dec 23, 2012
    Perth Western Australia
    I know its hard to see but i hoping someone will see something great for me.

3. thebanthams

thebanthams Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 12, 2010
    Safford, Arizona
    very hard for me to see but I am guessing 8 to 9 days. do you see veins?

4. tashtash

Dec 23, 2012
    Perth Western Australia
    Yeah they all bar a couple have veins in them some have a black spot like size of pin head some have mass of veins and big blob some have a deep dark circle with a little spot in side. ????????

5. TimBaumann

TimBaumann Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2012
    Namibia
    If it was not incubated by a hen before you put it in the incubator then it's 4 days old because you put it into the incubator on the 4th January and today is the 8th! By now you should see a small heart pumping with veins around it if you have a light strong enough to shine through the shell!

6. tashtash

Dec 23, 2012
    Perth Western Australia
    A couple of eggs I can't see anything but all I mentioned above have that description plus veins

7. tashtash

Dec 23, 2012
    Perth Western Australia
    I only have a small key ring torch its not that strong.

8. tashtash

Dec 23, 2012
    Perth Western Australia
    I got them of a man who has chickens and sells fertile eggs. I don't think his hens sat on them first.

Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  9. TimBaumann

TimBaumann Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2012
    Namibia