Candle-day 10- this is a chick right?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by JulieNKC, Jun 2, 2011.

1. JulieNKC

JulieNKC Overrun With Chickens

Sep 25, 2010
    Kansas City
    This is my first time hatching eggs. I set them the 23rd. This is what I am supposed to see in the eggs right? Also, I have 3 eggs in my incubator, and 8 under my broody. I think I have a BO who is going broody. Can I split the eggs so they each have some or does she need to set 21 days? I just got a roo yesterday, how long will it take me to get fertile eggs for her from my hens? Thanks!
    [​IMG]

2. speedy2020

speedy2020 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 24, 2010
    Quote:Yes. It will take 1-2 week to get good fertile eggs.

3. Gypsy07

Gypsy07 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2010
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Great photo. Yes, that's what you're supposed to see! Veins and a tiny embryo. Congratulations!

If your roo is totally new to the flock it might take longer than a week or two to get fertile eggs. That figure is accurate if the roo is a big handsome stud who manages to win over your hens straight away but if he's young and inexperienced and your ladies are bossy they might not let him anywhere near them for a few weeks!

4. JulieNKC

Sep 25, 2010
    Kansas City
    Quote:Apparently my hens are rather easy. He's already been caught doing the deed. They also squat for me, my fiance, my one year old daughter, etc. [​IMG] My little non broody silkie is quite infatuated with him. She follows him all around, is never more than a few feet from him it seems. They make quite the weird couple, as he is a big funky combed barred rock mutt roo, and she is a slightly still green tinged from st pattys day petite silkie. [​IMG] Guess I'll try to break my BO if she ends up broody. If she's that determined she can go broody again in a few weeks and hatch out some eggs from the odd couple.

5. gogoalie

gogoalie Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2010
    Alaska