candleing too much?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by showjumper_girl2002, Jul 20, 2011.

1. showjumper_girl2002

showjumper_girl2002 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    Florida
    hello! i have 8 scovy eggs in my new Rcom 20 and this is my first time ever hatching eggs. i'm so excited and super impatient! i was just wondering if it's possible to candle eggs too much (meaning taking them in and out of the bator too often)? i candled them once on day 10 and all but one looked good (i think lol). anyway, it's only been 4 days since and i already want to candle them again to see what's going on [​IMG] is it ok if i do this or will it mess them up? is anybody else this impatient [​IMG]

2. bargain

bargain Love God, Hubby & farm Premium Member

Apr 13, 2008
    Bowdon, GA
    My theory is that you can candle too much.... Think about it. Each time you lift them out or lift the top of your incubator, you handle them, you risk transmitting oils, dirt from your skin as well as alter their humidity and temperature. Many times, I only candle upon lockdown - day 18! I once dropped an egg I was incubating and it was horrendous.

That's my humble opinion..... Hope it helps and yes I'd love to see development every few days but I simply just don't want to risk the hatch!!! I'm sure you'll hear a lot of different versions!
    have a blessed day. Nancy

3. ReikiStar

ReikiStar Chillin' With My Peeps

That you were able to sit on your hands for 10 days...congratulations. But there is the idea that candling too often does stress the embryo/chick. You're handling the egg, taking it out of its nice warm environment, rotating it and sticking a very very bright light up to it...none of that sounds like much fun (though it's a necessary step a few times during the process) for the chick, esp. in the early stages when they don't even have eyelids to shield from the light.