Candlers

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by sableboi, Jan 1, 2011.

1. sableboi

sableboi Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Lakeland
    Is there a "Best" when it comes to purchasing a candler?

2. turningchicken

turningchicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2010
    I am definately no pro, but I saw no need in purchasing a candler. I have only incubated 4 cluthes, but my handy strong flashlight, a dark room and cupping the egg in my hand worked very well. I even helped my 9th grade grandson do a science project and took pictures of the chicks in different stages of development. But, I AM NO PRO!!
    By the way

[​IMG]

3. Serama Mama 4

Serama Mama 4 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 27, 2010
    we just use a flashlight also

4. gitlost80

gitlost80 Trigger Pullet

Mar 27, 2009
    Reno/Sparks
    I got a 110 lumen coleman flashlight from walmart for around 20 bucks. I have medium brown eggs and can see through them pretty well with my light. My regular mag-light( has 72 lumens) just wasnt cutting it. I absolutely love my new flashlight!

5. sableboi

sableboi Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Lakeland
    Dang it - I was just at Wally World...will pick one up next time - Thanks!

6. rebel yell

rebel yell Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2010
    Alabama
    little led flash light from TSC works great, the one with 1 bulb, $5

Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  7. ranchhand

ranchhand Rest in Peace 1956-2011

Aug 25, 2008
    SC
    I have two. One is an LED flashlight that was $2.99 at TSC, and the other is an old Kodak slide projector. It has a really bright bulb and works quite well. But the replacement bulbs are expensive, so when it goes it will be just the cheap TSC flash.

8. Buck Creek Chickens

Buck Creek Chickens Have Incubator, Will Hatch

Nov 26, 2008
    Neenah, WI
    I use a 5 and 7 lite LED flashlite, they work great, the only thing i add i a folded peice of dk duct tape so the egg fits the light (got these free)

9. mrsfarmchick1