Candling and see NOTHING??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Suburban Sprouts, May 16, 2010.

1. Suburban Sprouts

Suburban Sprouts Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    This is my first time hatching... I put the eggs in the incubator a week ago. They are half FBCM and half Olive Eggers so I know these are difficult to candle, but tonight I wanted to check them and when I put the light to them, I saw nothing different than before I put them in the incubator... They were shipped eggs, but the temp and humidity have been at recommended levels... Did I not see anything because of the dark shells or because it isn't going well? Anyone with words of encouragement or guidance?

[​IMG]

2. pgpoultry

pgpoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2009
    Wales
    Hi, Not easily seen when the eggs are dark, but look for veins, that is something that normally you would be able to see.
    There are good pictures on the web of eggs being candled at different stages. Print up a chart and have it by your side when you candle the eggs. I found this very helpful with my first few batches,
    Sandie

3. clothdiaperingmom

clothdiaperingmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2010
    Sweetwater, TX
    Did you say they have only been in a week?
    Most say not to candle till 10 days.
    Ive had a hard time seeing in my darker eggs, and they werent even maran eggs.
    Give them more time and check again.
    Good luck

4. Fuffy

Fuffy Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 3, 2009
    Jersey, GB
    They say candling is an art rather than a science!

I am waiting for day 10 before I have a go! (I've never done this before either!)
    Good luck, hope they are all ok [​IMG]

5. FarmGirl01

FarmGirl01 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2008
    AR