candling day 4

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by sherriwv, Feb 12, 2015.

1. sherriwv

sherriwv Out Of The Brooder

Jan 29, 2015
    I think I have 7 for sure developing and another 5 in question! Started off with 22 eggs and 2 showing hairline cracks. Since this is my first time I am questioning the maybes, one of them looks like something dark is floating around but see no veining. Also I seen a small blood line in one so who knows what all I have going on! Second guessing myself. Pretty excited though after seeing some veining.

Last edited: Feb 12, 2015
  2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Candling on Day 4 is really risky. Not all eggs develop in exactly the same way. Some shells are a lot harder to see inside than others. I never candle until Day 7 and with some of my eggs, especially the green ones, it’s still hard to see inside.

Candling is a lot of fun, pure excitement, but patience is your best friend.

1 person likes this.
  3. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    I agree with RR. Hi. My name is Lazy gardener, and I'm a candling addict! I just love to see the miracle of life unfolding inside those eggs. So, I'll candle a few at day 4, and often will candle at least an egg/day when I open the bator to turn those eggs. Mama hen gets off the clutch on a regular basis for her eat and dump, so I don't think there's any harm done by sneaking an egg out. Any eggs after day 7 that are ?able, get marked with a big ? mark. I always err on the side of caution before removing any eggs. Just be super careful, and cradle those eggs well, as I think (IMO) those vascular systems are pretty delicate. Days 10 - 14 are the best. What an incredible sight to witness a chick dancing around in the shadows of the egg.

1 person likes this.
  4. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan