1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Candling: I'm doing it wrong. Update, pg two! I see a baby!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chicken-owner-31, Jan 2, 2011.

1. chicken-owner-31

chicken-owner-31 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2007
    NV
    Granted I couldn't keep my hands off and tried it on day 3. [​IMG]

It's my first attempt to hatch anything. I figure I've got a pretty good bater (Brinsea mini Advance) and calibrated my hygrometer like a good girl. Got eggs from a friend (which might be the issue) and aside from the candling attempt (which took less than 2 minutes) I haven't touched the bator.

When I tried to candle with the LED flishlight in a pitch dark room, I couldn't see ANYTHING. [​IMG]

Ok, I could see a little bit....but I couldn't see any veins. [​IMG] I saw what appeared to be the yolk and the air cell, which looked teeny. Most of them looked pourous, and one of them was like half and half complete pourous and solid. It was odd.

So I'm thinking that none of the 6 eggs are fertile. But I'm holding the hope that since I'm a dummy first timer, there is actually six little babies working away at becoming honest to goodness chicks. At this point, I would be ecstatic with 2. Heck, one.

I know there is a roo in with the hens that laid these, I've seen him myself. I also know it's too early to count them out. But I just have that "feeling."

/rant [​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 5, 2011
  2. heathersboers

heathersboers Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2010
    wilson
    Try candling on day 10- At 3 days-youre not gonna see anything- a good LED flashlight is what I use-It works great -about $5.00 at Wal-mart. Good luck!! [​IMG]

3. Baralak

Baralak Chillin' With My Peeps