Candling Question - Day 6 (Swedish Isbar)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MSThompson, Aug 17, 2016.

1. MSThompson

MSThompson New Egg

Aug 17, 2016
    Hey guys, I'm a bit new to incubating and candling eggs and have a few questions. First, this is day 6 of Swedish Isbar eggs (shipped).

Through some reading and research I've gotten pretty familiar with what a fertile candled egg looks like (online) but when it comes to my own 12, I'm at a loss.

My questions are: (photos below are labeled Egg 1 - Egg 5 and some key concerns)

A lot of my eggs have these speckles, almost all of them actually and some are extreme. I've read that this is bacteria contamination? Does that mean that any egg with these light spots is contaminated? Should they be removed?

A bunch of my eggs show an air pocket at the top, and a dark space at the bottom - a few have these odd, distinct thin rings that travel all the way around the egg (not always in a perfect line) right on or near to where the light and dark sections meet. Is this a blood ring? I have one that has a thick ring and then a dark (maybe embryo) spot above it?

Also what I've noticed about these eggs, is that the dark and light sections seem to be very fluid and liquid as I handle them over the candler. You can see stuff inside shifting, and I'm handling these extremely gently and slowly.

Nothing smells badly yet - the incubator has been kept at 99.5-100 thus far, and the humidity averages about 45.

All in all...just some feedback or guidance would be great.

[​IMG]

Egg 1 - Lots of speckling, dark mass/embryo(?) at top

[​IMG]

Egg 2 - Odd split in embryo?

[​IMG]

Egg 3 - Very dark at top with thick line under - seems very "fluid" or "liquidy" inside

[​IMG]

Egg 4 - Has dark veining or lines - bottom one wraps around egg - contents seem "fluid" too

[​IMG]

Egg 5 - Another with an odd dark vein or line that wraps the egg - also seems fluid

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014