Candling question for all you seasoned proz...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Chris Herzog, Nov 9, 2011.

1. Chris Herzog

Chris Herzog Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    Covington
    I have a candling question for all you seasoned proz and yes this in my first time doing this so I'm still learning.

This morning I was looking at some eggs that I set Friday night. Out of 50 eggs I have 31 that look like this or better….

[​IMG]

I’m happy with these eggs.

I have maybe 2 eggs that are questionable to me and could go either way. I plan on leaving these eggs alone for now and then re-check them in a few days.

Then I have 17 that look like this one…

[​IMG]

My question is this, when do you call it quits on an egg? In other words, should I let these 17 eggs go a few more days then check them again or should I just go ahead and remove them now? Tonight will be day 5.

Thanks in advance,
    Chris

2. bikerchic

bikerchic Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 22, 2011
    Virginia
    I would wait till day 10 before tossing any. The first pic looks perfect!! The second looks clear, but the be 100% positive, just wait it out.

3. bikerchic

bikerchic Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 22, 2011
    Virginia
    Covington? What state?

4. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Agree. Patience is the best policy. I've made mistakes at 7 days, but mine are not usually as clear as yours. I probably need a stronger light or, more likely, better younger eyes. But still, wait a few days.

5. Chris Herzog

Oct 16, 2011
    Covington
    Quote:Louisiana

6. Shayna

Shayna I [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]

Aug 2, 2011
    Midwest
    I agree too that the bottom pic looks clear but I would NOT throw them out yet. I've been wrong and never tossed them and had a surprise. I don't toss any until lock down, unless I would have one that smells or oozes.

7. Chris Herzog

Oct 16, 2011
    Covington