Candling-When Should I expect to see something?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by hokankai, Apr 30, 2011.

1. hokankai

hokankai Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2010
    SW WA
    I put some eggs under my broody about 50 hours ago. I candled them for the first time (this is my first time hatching) and saw nothing but a dark circle which I'm assuming is the yolk shadow. When should I be able to see something? My flashlight is an LED and is 80 lumens, so it's pretty dang bright. I did not see a blood island. When should I be able to see something for the first time?

2. clayb226

clayb226 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2011
    Missouri
    That dark circle means it is fertile, if it was totally clear, infertile. You should see some veining and an embryo in a couple days. I candled at 6 days, and just seen the veins starting to spider out.

3. ScissorChick

ScissorChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2010
    Under Your bed
    The dark circle does not mean it is fertile. If you take an egg

that is not fertile, and candle it, you will still be able to see the shadow

of the yolk, which is what you are seeing. 50 hours is to early to candle.

I've candled pure white eggs at day 4, and still BARELY be able to see veins.

For light colored eggs you should candle on day 7. [​IMG] You will most

likely not see anything if you candle before then. For darker colored

eggs, you'll need to wait a few extra days.

-Scissor

Last edited: Apr 30, 2011
  4. hokankai

May 18, 2010
    SW WA
    Ok great! These eggs are blue so I'll wait a couple of days. It's SOOOO HARD to leave them and mama alone. I numbered them today and will check back tomorrow to take mama out to poop.

Thanks you guys! I had a nightmare last night about the eggs getting cracked and they all had baby rats inside of them (I have pet rats...and the dream was very strange, LOL) so I got super paranoid.

5. ScissorChick

Dec 17, 2010
    Under Your bed