CANNIBALISM???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Damummis, May 6, 2009.

1. Damummis

Damummis Chickenista

Apr 29, 2009
    Mid-Coast
    I am new to the chicken keeping world and I was wondering if ALL breeds of chickens can and will be cannibals if given the chance or just certain kinds? Cause that just grosses me out!!!

2. basicliving

basicliving Keepin' the sunny side up

Mar 20, 2008
    Shenandoah Valley, VA
    Some breeds seem to be more prone to it than others - but I firmly believe the biggest factor is boredom. And once one starts doing it, it becomes a learned behavior for others. Feather picking/plucking is an early warning sign. Spend a little time reading up on it and do what you can to prevent it from ever starting. As they say, an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

There's a link in my signature that will take you to my page on what I've learned on this subject. A search on BYC will yield you MANY pages on the subject as well.

3. chickenfever

chickenfever Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2008
    Arizona
    I've read that high energy foods can also be responsible. Don't feed scratch and maybe even cut down on the egg maker/layer feed. Maybe even mix w/chick starter. Avoid the more aggressive chicken breeds.

4. DarkWolf

DarkWolf Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2008
    Murray Kentucky
    "Say, Bob... What are we going to do today?"

"Gosh Helen, I'm not sure. Kinda bored, how about you?"

"I'm awfully bored, too, Bob.. Say.. How about we go eat Jane."

"Why that's a lovely idea, Helen. Lets do that!"

Boredom is a bad thing.. [​IMG]

5. Damummis

Damummis Chickenista

Apr 29, 2009
    Mid-Coast
    Black sunflower seeds.....Check!
    Free range when I am home.....Check!
    Something to play with when I am not home......Check!
    Less scratch....Check!
    Culled biggest offender.....Check! [​IMG] (had to be done)

Am I missing anything????