canning question

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by Niss, Aug 20, 2011.

1. Niss

Niss Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    The "what are you canning" thread is a little intimidating, so let me be lazy.
    Do I really need a pressure canner???
    My mom says no everything can be waterbathed. by most so called experts are saying anything that's not really acidic needs the pressure.

Thanks!

2. 1mommahen

1mommahen Love My Cluckin' Coop

Mar 20, 2008
    NJ
    I've been canning for 25 years without one, never killed anybody yet! [​IMG]

3. stilldeb

stilldeb Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2010
    NW Kentucky
    Quote:Same here with the water bath canner - I learned from my country neighbors when this city girl moved to the country.

[​IMG]

4. BarefootMom

BarefootMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2010
    Half Way, Missouri
    If you are going to can meat, soups, beans, etc you need a pressure canner. I wouldn't do those things without one- too much risk. Water bath canners can't get any hotter than 212 degrees. Pressure canners hit 240 which will safely kill bacteria...212 won't.

a great info page:
    http://pickyourown.org/pressurecanners.htm

5. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

Quote:X2 It's not the worth the risk to me and my family or anyone else who eats my canned goods to not use a pressure canner.

If all you're canning is fruits, pickles and tomatoes, then no, you don't need one....anything else like meats or green beans, etc needs a pressure canner.

6. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I've been driving for more than 25 years. I have not killed anybody yet. That could change tomorrow.