Can't get rid of rooster in Los Angeles!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by tavarel, Nov 25, 2016.

1. tavarel

tavarel Just Hatched

Nov 25, 2016
    I bought 3 'pullets' from a feed store in Malibu that despite assuring me that hardly any of their officially un-sexed chickens turn out to be roosters, one of mine did. Even as a novice, I noticed within a day that he was different to the others, but they wouldn't take him back. So now I'm stuck with a rooster I don't need/want. I've contacted every farm rescue/shelter around and none will take a rooster on as they are full to capacity and tell me the chance of him being adopted in Los Angeles are slim. Apparently there is an epidemic of unwanted roosters due to the popularity of backyard chicken keeping. Obviously I would not want to risk him going to a place that might use him for meat/fighting, or anything else cruel so I'm reluctant to advertise him on Craigslist. What do people do in this situation?

2. DwayneNLiz

DwayneNLiz ...lost... Premium Member

Jun 18, 2013
    NH
    Welcome to BYC!!

Unfortunately i would list on craigslist, and not be specific on his outcome on life
    more than likely it will still be better than a meat farm

the only thing that could save him is his breed, but more than likely it is hatchery stock and not worth breeding
    could try to list on BYCs where are you thread to see if anyone on here wnats him

Very sorry [​IMG] and good luck!!

3. tavarel

tavarel Just Hatched

Nov 25, 2016
    [​IMG]
    Thanks so much for replying. I believe he's an Ameracauna. He's very handsome, and wasn't cheap so I don't know if this means he's of good stock or not. Is this a breed people are interested in?

4. DwayneNLiz

Jun 18, 2013
    NH
    he is very handsome!

ameracaunas are very popular (as they lay blue eggs), but he may still be a bit of a mutt, check the ameracauna thread to get the specific requirements to be classified as an ameracauna