Can't Seem to Raise Humidity in my DIY Incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MonaMona, Apr 27, 2017.

1. MonaMona

MonaMona Just Hatched

Jun 15, 2016
    Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
    I built my own DIY incubator out of a styrofoam cooler, lightbulb, fan, hardware cloth, rocks, and tin pan to hold water. I've been trying lots of different things: different wattage of lightbulbs, more water, more rocks, fewer rocks, etc and I can't seem to raise the humidity beyond 15%. I'll be using the dry-hatch method for incubation, so I'm most concerned about getting that humidity up for lock-down. This is my first time hatching eggs, so any advice on my incubator is appreciated! I also wanted to go DIY to save costs before I buy an incubator so I'm patient with figuring out temps and humidity.

Below are pictures of my bator. The temp is high in the pictures as I had a 50 watt bulb in there in the hopes it'd evaporate the water faster but it just made it hot and dry. I've had better results with a 40 watt bulb--seems to keep the temps steady at around 100 degrees.

I have a feeling I need more ventilation. I'll drill holes in the bator if I need to--but where should the holes go? Thanks!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Poultry parent

Poultry parent Chillin' With My Peeps

A wet rag really helps raise the humidity

3. BantyChooks

BantyChooks Smile Premium Member

Aug 1, 2015
    You should not be running dry if your humidity is 15% w/o water. The "dry hatch" method should more accurately be called the "low humidity method". Most people in tabletop incubators have success with 30% humidity, but watch air cells or weigh to determine how the humidity should be adjusted from there. 15% will dehydrate the embryo and kill it.

Air cell chart:
    [​IMG]

4. BantyChooks

Aug 1, 2015
    You have a fan in there yes? Try placing the water under the fan.

Also, have you checked your hydrometer for accuracy?

5. MonaMona

MonaMona Just Hatched

Jun 15, 2016