1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Caring for ducklings in fall/winter

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by murray08, Oct 2, 2015.

1. murray08

murray08 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2015
    Hello all, I'm new to BYC and need some advice. I only have two hens and they both went broody at the same time. I got the idea to go ahead and put a few fertile duck eggs under them. I have a hatch day of October 10 and am thinking I made a huge mistake with winter coming! I think we all three had babies on the brain lol. Should I remove them as soon as they are hatched and move to a brooder? Let the girls take care of them? Let them live in the house all winter? Any advice to make sure the girls and babies are ok is appreciated!

2. cochinfan05

cochinfan05 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 14, 2013
    LaFargeville NY
    I'm in upstate ny and currently have a clutch of 12 chicks with my broody. It was in the mid 30s this am and she had them out foraging! Broody Mamas are amazing. They'll make sure those babies are warm and you'll end up with heartier chicks/ducklings in the long run. You can always add a heat source in the coop if it really bothers you but I guarantee you'll be amazed how little they use it. What breed are your broodies and how many eggs do each have?

3. murray08

Oct 2, 2015
    That's good news! I have a light brahma and a silkie. The brahma is the one sitting on the nest and the silkie keeps her company. She is on three pekin/runner cross eggs. I candled them Wednesday and all look good :) should I do anything special with their feed? I remove them off the nest once a day to take a break. Otherwise they they don't seem to be eating. They will take a 15 minute break or so and go back to their nesting box.

4. cochinfan05

Jun 14, 2013
    LaFargeville NY