Caring for goslings - advice

mark-rfuqaehc

In the Brooder
Nov 12, 2019
Hello all,

I am new to raising geese and caught a little by surprise today when 3 goslings hatched out of a nest of 4 eggs. I didn't expect them for another week. I must have been missed when the eggs came or miscalculated. I have been reading up on raising geese but still have a few specific questions;

1. I see some conflicting information on if I should let the mother goose take care of the goslings or separate from them her and raise them in their own enclosure. What is the general consensus here?

I am leaning towards leaving the goslings with the mother goose, but I want to make sure that the best care is provided for them.

The nest is under a bamboo floor on hard soil with some leaves. It's should be hot enough (being in Thailand, day temperature is around 36 deg C (97 F) with night temperature down to 20 deg C (68 deg F).

2. I have read that I can feed them chick feed the first period - placed flat on the ground or a towel and with a good supply of clean drinking water. Should I just place this next to the nest? The mother goose might be defensive and try to bite me.

The mother goose didn't leave the nest much while brooding. Maybe 1-2 times a week for some food and to defecate. She would usually make a loud noise and I would come and give her some food (even at 5am in the morning).

3. Any advice for a newbie to raising geese are much appreciated.

Thank you.

Mark

Attachments

• IMG_4195.jpeg
    IMG_4195.jpeg
    463.3 KB · Views: 47
Thank you - that was my conclusion also. I have placed food and water close by the nest. It's a single mum goose. The father is no longer around - will this be a problem for the mum?

By the end of the day, 5 eggs hatched. I don't think there are any more unhatched eggs left.