Cat food?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Annichka, Nov 5, 2008.

1. Annichka

Annichka Out Of The Brooder

Jun 27, 2008
    I couldn't figure out why my cats kept whining at me as if I hadn't just fed them an hour ago. Or how they weren't becoming morbidly obese with the amount of food that kept disappearing from their bowls! (Poor things: I'm a vet technician and a little critical of their weight, so I wasn't about to overfeed them. After a few bouts of whining I stopped refilling the bowls. Little did I know...mea culpa!) About three days of this went by before I went out into the garage to find that the chickens had gotten in there and were feasting on dry cat kibble.

My cats are too afraid of the chickens to defend their dinner. I'm trying to figure out a way to blockade chickens and not cats, but until I do, is it going to hurt the chickens to eat dry cat food?

2. lovemychix

lovemychix Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 14, 2008
    Moulton Iowa
    I've actually heard that cat food is good for chickens!! protein

3. RickiHupp

RickiHupp Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2008
    Newark, Ohio
    My chickens do the same exact thing!! I will feed the chickens then come onto the porch to feed the cats and before I even get the cat food poured the chickens are up on the porch waiting!! Little brats, I now sit there shooing away the chickens so that my cats can eat!!

4. Pumpkinpup

Pumpkinpup Poultry Princess

Jul 16, 2008
    North-West Georgia
    There is a thread on this forum somewhere on foods or treats that are ok and what is not ok for chickens but I am thinking i read it is not a good thing to give the chickens cat food except as a very occasional treat. I can't remember the reasoning for that but it is in the thread I believe.

5. rooster-red

rooster-red Here comes the Rooster

Jun 10, 2007
    Douglasville GA
    Quote:Cat food is high in protien, good to feed as a treat when moulting.