caught an australorp brooding

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by digbychris, Apr 18, 2017.

1. digbychris

digbychris Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2017
    Hi all, I'm new to the form (my first post). I've had layers for several years, the last few years all australorps. I have 16 hens and one rooster, all over 3 years of age. I still get 5-6 eggs a day from them. However, realizing they may be nearing the end of their laying days, I had thought about buying a cheap incubator and hatching a few. Then, almost as if on cue, I caught a girl brooding on 3 eggs 2 days ago. she (i assume the same one) was still on them yesterday. I don't often see this in australorps, so I'm hoping it lasts. I took a sharpie and marked those 3 eggs.
    Now, I could use some suggestions. The coop she's in is big enough for all of the birds, her nesting box is a Rubbermaid type of tote that I cut a side out of and turned upside down, so it is somewhat private and safe. Should I make it even more private by blocking it off and giving her her own feed and water source and a few square feet of room?
    how intrusive should I be? does she care if I touch the eggs to clean the nesting material (straw) and candle the eggs? I'm not too bothered if the eggs don't hatch, this is a hobby I enjoy so it is purely an experiment.
    my layers all very free range, but they come in to the coop to sleep, eat and lay.