cayuga or Swedish?

Bird maniac

Chirping
Oct 11, 2016
Olympia, WA
hi all,
I have been trying to decide which species of ducks to get, (I am planning to get four ducks 1 male 3 females). this is my first time trying out ducks (though I do have chickens, pigeons, and quail). I don't really want to have to put a top on the run so if one of these breeds fly I'd rather have the other one. also I really need a well tempered breed, along with that the quieter the better (my neighbors can not handle noise:barnie)
I don't really care about egg or meat production.
I have been looking into cayuga and Swedish.

Dpyskaty325

Chirping
May 14, 2018
Buffalo NY
If you are looking for no flight I would go with a really heavy breed like Campbell khaki or Pekin, I have a khaki but she has not gone one day without laying an egg in a year. They are sticky too :sick

Jpat

Life’s a garden: dig it.
Apr 30, 2018
Nova scotia
If you are looking for no flight I would go with a really heavy breed like Campbell khaki or Pekin, I have a khaki but she has not gone one day without laying an egg in a year. They are sticky too :sick
My kahki could fly to the moon. Yours lays 365 eggs a year? sticky ones?

DuckyDonna

Crossing the Road
Aug 26, 2018
Dallas, Georgia
I know I'm partial but what about Indian Runners? They are so much fun to watch, they can't fly but they do lay eggs but they won't want to sit on them most likely. The eggs are awesome but you can always give them to dogs or neighbors if you don't want them! Actually you could scramble them up and give them to the ducks as a treat. They love them!

MillersFarm

Easily distracted by Chickens
Jun 3, 2016
Lewiston NY