Changing the lyrics of a song for a talent show?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by Nupine, Feb 25, 2011.

1. Nupine

Nupine Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2007
    Ohio
    I know this is a weird, dumb question, but I suppose thats what BYC is for [​IMG]

So, I started playing guitar about 6 weeks ago. Despite a little help from a friend, I'm teaching myself. I recently replaced my old, broken necked, cheap guitar for a beautiful shiny black Yamaha. I'm doing pretty well I suppose, yesterday I played/sang Pink Floyd's ''Wish You Were Here'' for my mom. There is a small talent show around here in early April. I really want to play/sing something in it, just to get some experience. I'm not a very good singer, but I'm sure it'd be fun none the less.
    I'm a huge fan of grunge music, so I want to do a grunge song. I've tossed a lot of Nirvana, Alice in Chains, and Pearl Jam songs through my head, and right now I'm really leaning towards ''Black'' by Pearl Jam. I absolutely love this song. I'm a girl, and the lyrics are definetely in a man's perspective [...ohh, and all I taught her was everything]. Since this is for a talent show, would it be more ''appropriate'' for me to change a few of the lyrics to put them into a girl's perspective, or just sing it as it was wrote? Thank you!
    Ashlyn

2. paddock36

paddock36 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 24, 2008
    Ocala, Florida
    I don't think it would hurt.

3. Nupine

Nupine Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2007
    Ohio
    Hurt to change the lyrics, or leave them as they are?

4. paddock36

paddock36 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 24, 2008
    Ocala, Florida