Changing the Straw in the Coup

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by jim-pav, Jan 16, 2011.

1. jim-pav

jim-pav Out Of The Brooder

Jan 2, 2011
    Freeport, PA
    Hi everyone. For those of you who use straw in your coup, I was wondering how often you change yours. I'm new to chickens this past summer. Built a coup 8' x 8'. In the winter here in PA, I put down two bails of straw on the floor. It seems to last about 3 weeks to 1 month. After that it's on the damp side. I push out the damp straw and put in two fresh bails, including in the nesting boxes. I have 14 chickens.

BTW, I shoveled the snow out of their run today. They came out within minutes!! First time they've been out in a couple weeks.

Thanks everyone.

Jim

Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  2. annie3001

annie3001 My Girls

Jun 11, 2009
    Ct.
    i personally do not like to use straw inside the coop. only in the nesting boxes. i like shavings on the coop floor. i think its much easier to move around and clean up. [​IMG]

3. MamaChic21

MamaChic21 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2010
    Jackson, NJ
    I was using hay inside their run and I really hated when it got wet, it also became very heavy and smelly [​IMG]. Yesterday I cleaned out their coop and put wood shaving in, not only it looks good but it smells good too [​IMG]. We shoveled their run day after it snowed here, but they were still limited so the hay that was in their coop, I put it in their run. They are not spending more time outside during the day now.

4. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

I have used straw and shavings in the coops and can't honestly say one is wow wee better than another, as far as clean up goes.
    Shavings clean up better with flat shovel, while straw is better with pitchfork and then shovel.