Characteristics of breeds

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ctags, Aug 4, 2010.

1. ctags

ctags Hatching

Aug 4, 2010
    Question everyone...I'm a newbie just starting out with chickens. What breeds of hens are characteristically "docile", "friendly", "not too noisy" yet are good producers? I live in Northern California and my coop has plenty of shade when the weather gets too hot. Any advice is very much appreciated!

2. elizabethlongwood

elizabethlongwood Chirping

Jun 24, 2010
    longwood, florida
    Hi and welcome!
    I can't speak of egg production, as our pullets are still not laying yet, but our favorite two of our four chickens has got to be our Easter Egger and our Buff Orpington. Both are quiet, calm and friendly towards us. The Easter Egger perches on our heads or shoulders any chance she gets, and will doze off in your arms if you stroke her feathers gently. The Buff Orpington is just so fluffy, soft and peaceful. Love her too!

3. wiss0023

wiss0023 In the Brooder

Aug 1, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Also new at this, but I agree that my Easter Eggers have been some of my more playful and approachable hens (one perches on me every chance she gets). I also have a black Australorp that is my sons favorite; lets him carry her everywhere. Both these breeds would be good producers. My Cuckoo Maran is not as likely to come up to us on her own accord, but is also not aggressive. I have new Cochins, so I will wait and see their temperment.

4. Morgan7782

Morgan7782 Dense Egg Goo

Mar 22, 2010
    Sacramento CA
    I have a Barred Rock and an Easter Egger in tie for friendliest chicken. The Easter Egger is a bit more aloof with strangers, but she perches on my arm or my Mom's lap quite willingly.