Cheap Coop Ideas

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by mkhenderson17, Jun 28, 2011.

1. mkhenderson17

mkhenderson17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 8, 2010
    Ok, So Im in a bit of a dilemma. I have to make a coop for my bantams fast. They used to free range but now I need to make a coop. I have fence so Im fine with the run just need cheap coop ideas. Right now they are in large crates in my barn but that is not adequate for them long term. I only have 4 bantams left but I want to get somewhere around 8 to 10 again. I have access to those bulk plastic storage containers. My mom wants to connect a bunch of them but Im not convinced on the idea. Does anyone have any ideas for CHEAP coops (like really cheap, Im a poor college student [​IMG]) ? Thanks in advanced!

2. WKYChick

WKYChick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2011
    We went cheap, we built ours from pallets and scrap metal, depending on where you are at you can look on craigslist or freecycle and ask for scrap wood/metal/pallets, your local newspaper station gets pallets and local furniture store, just ask around, we saw a pile of scrap lumber behind a business and we asked the manager if we can have it and he was delighted to see the pile go. You can even go to your Habitat restore for materials. I was also told you can go to your local lowes or home depot, even lumber stores and ask for miscut wood or any damaged pieces and they sell them to you real cheap.

We broke the pallets apart and created our floor, you can do lots with pallets [​IMG] , then we placed 4 posts for our corners and framed it out, wrapped it around in metal cutting out holes for windows and pop door.

I have seen people do their coops in nothing but pallets, just make sure you have corner posts and braces to support it.

I would be iffy with plastic due to over time they become brittle and crack, how big are the plastic containers?

[​IMG]

3. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010