Cheap or free treats

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Amyh, Jul 15, 2010.

1. Amyh

Amyh Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2010
    North Carolina
    I just got my chickens about a week ago. I have been researching chickens for many months, but am having so much fun with actually owning them.

I feed them medicated chick starter and some treats. Problem is that I cannot afford to buy them special treats, so they are only going to get our waste. For instance, I got a bad batch of corn, so I've been giving them some corn on the cob that we weren't going to eat. I also got a quarter of a watermelon from my mom that she let get mealy on the outside, so I gave them the outside pieces and some of the rind from the good pieces. I've been doing apple cores, banana peels, veggie peels (except potatoes) and other leftovers from fruit, sandwiches, meals, etc.

What other treats do you give your flock that are basically free? I had read that acorns are great for chickens, so I plan to do that in the Fall when they are plentiful on our property. I also plan to free range the birds soon... have to get the beagle to understand these are pets not hunting subjects.... I've seen some trees on my property that have seed pods hanging from them, so I was wondering if I can give the birds the seed pods? I thought they might be good for them, but not sure....

What else do you frugal peeps do for treats?

2. americancowboy

americancowboy Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2010
    georgia
    The best free treats are ants, crickets, and any other bugs in the yard. If you can let them free range then that would be a great treat but section off a part to not let your beagle near them! Also if you have a garden any old vegtibles or fruits are good. Oh and also lawn clippings if you have those and you dont fertilize your yard.

3. Mrs. Feathers

Mrs. Feathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2010