Cheapest Predator-Safe Coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by RocketChick, May 10, 2009.

1. RocketChick

RocketChick Out Of The Brooder

Apr 23, 2009
    I don't have much money(I'm a teenager fully responsible for my five birds)

So I'm trying to figure out a way to make a cheap coop that can happily fit five birds. (They'll go free range during the day, but locked up at night, so that means less room is necessary, right?

Well, I had an idea! But I have NO building experience and have no idea how to do it. In my backyard is a playset....one my parents got for me and my siblings many years ago...but now it's sort of abandoned. Is there any possible way I can convert it to a coop? A cheap safe way? I was thinking the "sandbox" area could be the main house area. There are two poles that go through the sand box that would make a great roost, and I can fit nest boxes in there. I just need a way to cover it and make a small door that can be closed and locked? I dont care if it'll be hard to clean...just looking for a nice way to build a coop and might as well take advantage of this idea...possible?

It looks like this, sort of?
    http://backyardplayground.net/images/uploads/gallery_images/Hayes_Split_Level_with_Porch.jpg

The area under the "house" of the playground is the sandbox, except mine has more wooden boards over all of the sides, more like a "box"

Any idea?? Thanks so much! I'm desperate!

What would I need to buy? Would it be cheap? I have $70, looking to save as much as possible. Dx

2. karen71

karen71 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2008
    Bear, DE
    I'm not good at building Dh did my coops- but if you could buy hardware wire and put it around the top to keep anything out - and get some kind of post to make the run I don't know how much it will cost but try craigslist or sites like it to locate cheap stuff
    Have fun building and keeping chickens

3. Chicky Tocks