Chick Math, Again!!!!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by SkyWarrior, Jun 29, 2010.

1. SkyWarrior

SkyWarrior Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2010
    Wilds of Montana
    I minored in math and my bachelors was in computer science. I was a rocket scientist before I became an author. I have no excuse for this. [​IMG] [​IMG]

We agreed on 6 chickens.

We bought 2 Leghorns, 2 Black Sex Links and 2 Golden Sex Links.
    I bought 4 EE from a breeder.
    I wanted turkeys and geese, so 2 turkeys and 2 geese. They had EEs, so I bought 2 of those and 2 RIR.
    Saw cornish X's on sale 2 for 1 -- bought 6. With the Cornish X they offered me two RIR roos that looked like pullets as a 2 for 1. Got 2.
    Didn't realize the BSL were actually BR and thought they were roos. Bought 3 BSL pullets to replace them.

Lost 1 Cornish x; butchered the other 5.
    Lost a turkey; DH says buy 4 Buff Orpingtons. [​IMG] [​IMG]

So: 6 = 2 + 2 +2 + 4 +2 + 2 + 6 + 2 - 6 + 3 + 4 = 23 chickens plus 1 turkey and 2 geese.

Chicken math is catching. My DH has it too. [​IMG]

Maybe it's a decimal point thing. [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. Morgan7782

Morgan7782 Dense Egg Goo

Mar 22, 2010
    Sacramento CA
    I love how you got 2 bsl, and when you replaced them, did it with 3 bsl pullets [​IMG] I have found the missing link!!

I understand. I was only getting 2 hens total. Only had room for 2 hens total. Live in the city and am an underground chicken owner, so REALLY can ONLY have 2 TOTAL!

What happened?

I have 2 girls outside, and 4 more being brooded inside. OOPS! Hahaha

3. debo4702

debo4702 Out Of The Brooder

May 17, 2010
    Wadley Ala
    [​IMG]

4. Sequin

Sequin Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008
    We were going to stop at a nice perfect number 10 ... at one point. Now we have nearly 40, I think. And two hens setting on 24 eggs!!! But eggs don't really count, right? LOL!!!

5. AlienChick

AlienChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    Glasgow, KY