1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chick not hatched

Discussion in 'Quail' started by abub93, Mar 7, 2013.

1. abub93

abub93 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 26, 2013
    Hi everyone,

Im new to all this incubation. I started my first batch 22 days ago and there are still no eggs that have hatched. should i wait or not? one egg did chirp 2 days ago and there was one pip but after that it stopped chirping. today i decided to open it up, when i did t werent moving, one eye was shut the other open. im assuming its dead. Any help on what to do with rest? keep them in for one more day or get rid?

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    What type of quail are you hatching? Some have longer incubation periods.

3. abub93

Jan 26, 2013
    coturnix quail

4. TwoCrows

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I would say that if today is day 22, it is a loss. Something went wrong during incubation, or the with the eggs.

Where did you get the eggs? And were they shipped eggs? What incubator are you using? Is it forced air or still air? What were your temps and humidity levels during incubation and at lock down? Did you use one thermometer or two? Anything else that may pertain to the incubation you can also include would be helpful. :)

5. abub93

Jan 26, 2013