1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

chick not seeming to thrive like the others

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by eagrbeavr, Apr 2, 2015.

1. eagrbeavr

eagrbeavr Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi Im new at this. I have 5 chicks, 10 days old. $ seem to be flourishing. One is slower to grow, its belly doesnt hang down like the others. and she doesnt open her eyes wide. Sleeps a lot. Not as active but she does eat, drink, and scurry off, sometimes. Shes the most docile. She seems to have silky in her and Ive heard they grow slower. I think another does too and shes thriving. Is there electrolytes or something I can give her? Please, I'm looking to hear from veteran growers with solid advice. Nothing personal. I just dont want to guess or assume.

Heres pics of the five. [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    The one Im concerned with is the first one. The pic of her in the background is deceptive of how her belly looks. Instead of curving down, it curves up. Theyre hineys are clean. Like I said she does eat and drink, but not as much as the others. She sleeps more. Their feed is medicated. I really appreciate the input.

2. eagrbeavr

Never mind. It just died. ****

3. kyexotics

kyexotics Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 26, 2014
    Awwwww! I'm so sorry! [​IMG]

Sometimes it goes that way...We have one right now out of a group of 25 that is way smaller than his brothers, very lethargic but hanging on...Will he make it, we hope, but no guarantee, we've seen this many times and it seems to go 50/50...Every chick that died used to kill me, but after, sadly, seeing so many at this point, we realize it's just how it goes...You just have to be thankful for the special time you got to have with them...

Last edited: Apr 2, 2015
  4. eagrbeavr