Chick Quarantine

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Kathy Golla, Jan 2, 2017.

1. Kathy Golla

Kathy Golla Just Hatched

Jan 2, 2017
    Hello everyone, I am new to BYC. I will be a newbie to backyard chicken raising in Spring 2017 and am currently doing some planning.

I have a question I have not found the answer to in Internet reading, so I've come here to the experts.

We plan on getting 6 chicks (what the city ordinance says we can have) in March. We do not have an existing flock, these will be our first chickens.

We have some good friends/neighbors who have two hens and would like to add two hens to their existing flock. Since we are managing 6 chicks/brooder in March it seems to make a lot of sense to raise two extra chicks for our friends with our chicks.

One thing Im not understanding is there is lots of advice to quarantine birds for at least 30 days if you take in new birds and want to add them to an existing flock. That they can be healthy but be disease carriers and the stress of moving can allow a disease to flare, etc. What about the instance where they are raised from chicks together with no existing flock? Would you suggest our neighbors quarantine the 8 week old chicks we would raise for 30 days before introducing them to their existing flock?

Also, another question I had is we plan on moving the 6 chicks we would have from the brooder to the coop at about 8 weeks old (we live in CA) and I'm assuming we dont want to confuse the two neighbors chicks by moving them to first our coop, then to the neighbors coop? We want them to go to their own coop or brooder at that point (?)

Any other drawbacks Im not thinking of?

Thank you so much in advance, this is a great resource.

2. dekel18042

dekel18042 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2013
    Pennsylvania