***Chick standing all fluffed up/loosely carrying wings/eyes closed***

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chicken quartet, Jun 24, 2008.

1. chicken quartet

chicken quartet Out Of The Brooder

Jun 12, 2008
    Corona, CA
    I'm REALLY new to chickens so I'm worried about this chick. I've only had her since Friday but she's not acting like the other one I got with her.

She's just standing in her cage with her feathers all fluffed up, eyes closed, loosely carrying her wings (they seem like they are falling down??)and keeping her head close to her body. She seems pretty lethargic. Usually she runs from me when I try to pick her up.

I've searched all over the emergency boards and read everything I can. I've separated her from the other birds. I put some vitamins in her water. I've been giving her yogurt, electrolytes, and vitamin water through a dropper. She pecked a little at her food. It doesn't seem like her crop has anything in it.

Our weather here over the past few days has been REALLY HOT. It was 105 for about 3-4 days in a row. She didn't seem to tolerate the heat as well as the others. Could this be heat related? What else can I do for her? I have her inside now as well. What is wrong with her??

2. chicken quartet

Jun 12, 2008
    Corona, CA
    Also, I just saw her poop and it was a greenish color with white top. She pecked a little at her food but then goes right back to closing her eyes and just standing there. She is about 6 weeks old.

Last edited: Jun 24, 2008
  3. Horsewell

Horsewell Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2008
    England
    Poor chick [​IMG] Hopefully someone can help you

4. Three Cedars Silkies

Three Cedars Silkies Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2008
    Gainesville, Fl.