Chick Starter? Flock Raiser? Layer Pellets?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by jeremy, Sep 19, 2010.

1. jeremy

jeremy CA Royal Blues

Mar 23, 2008
    Oakland, CA
    I'm beginning to integrate a couple different age groups into one large flock for the upcoming winter months.

Group 1 is 16 weeks old and is not laying.
    Group 2 is 20-24 weeks old and some are laying, others have not reached POL yet.
    Group 3 is 1-2 years old and are laying everyday.

Right now for group 1 is getting nothing but chick starter.
    Group 2 I'm feeding them a chick starter crumble, with oyster shell free choice for those already laying.
    Group 3 gets a layer pellet.

Should I continue to offer both kinds of feed, starter and layer when I mix the flocks; with oyster shell for those who need it?
    Or should I switch everyone to flock raiser (I have never used this before, what is it?) and supplement with oyster shell?

I'm worried about the younger hens eating the big girls food and getting too much calcium, or the older girls eating the baby bird and the opposite happening.

Advice?

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 19, 2010
  2. mboreham1

mboreham1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2009
    Carmichael, CA
    Honestly, i have my chicks on starter up until about 8 weeks, after that, they are in with the rest of the flock, they get fruit, treats etc plus layer pellets, i have never lost a bird with this method

3. jeremy

jeremy CA Royal Blues

Mar 23, 2008
    Oakland, CA
    I've heard too much calcium at a young age (before POL) can cause problems internally with young birds? [​IMG]
    And I don't want soft shells by feeding only starter feed.

Plus I'd really like to only have to buy 1 type of feed when I go to the feed store, for some reason chick starter is $2 more expensive than the layer pellet that I buy from.

4. tnchickenut

tnchickenut It's all about the Dels!

Jan 24, 2010
    Englewood, TN